Sask Wheat welcomes new Board of Directors

Saskatoon (January 12, 2018) – The Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission (Sask Wheat) has formally installed its new Board of Directors. The new Board of Directors was introduced at the Sask Wheat Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Tuesday, January 9. The first meeting of the new Board took place January 11, 2018, in Saskatoon, where the board chair and vice-chair were selected.

Laura Reiter was selected by the Board to serve as the board chair. Laura farms with her husband and brother at Radisson. Laura is a producer and a trained agrologist who has spent time working in research and in the agriculture retail sector. Laura was first elected to the Board in 2013 and was re-elected in 2015. She has also served as the Research Committee Chair for Sask Wheat for the past two years

Scott Hepworth was selected to serve as vice-chair of the Board of Directors. Scott is a fourth-generation producer on his family’s farm near Assiniboia. Scott grows durum and wheat, as well and lentils and canola. Scott was first elected to the Sask Wheat Board of Directors in 2015.

“I would like to thank my fellow directors for electing me to this position,” said Reiter. “Sask Wheat has grown significantly over the past four years and has made good investments in research on behalf of farmers that will benefit their operations and open up market opportunities. We have also made a significant impact as advocates of farmers, notably with transportation issues. I look forward to building on these activities and ensuring that the priorities of Saskatchewan wheat producers are not only heard, but acted upon.”

At the Annual General Meeting, the Board welcomed two new directors to the Board. Brett Halstead joins the board after serving as a director of SaskCanola for eight years. He and his family operate a mixed farm near Nokomis, growing wheat, barley, oats, canola, flax, peas, and soybeans and raising beef cattle.

The Board also welcomed Jake Leguee, a third-generation farmer who farms with his wife and sister near Weyburn, growing a variety of crops including durum, canola, spring and winter wheat, peas, lentils, and soybeans. Jake has a degree in Agriculture from the University of Saskatchewan, specializing in agronomy.

The Board welcomed back Bill Gehl, who has served as the Board Chair of Sask Wheat since 2014. Bill farms north of Regina on a third-generation, multi-family farm, growing wheat, barley, flax, canola and pulses.

The Board also welcomed back Ken Rosaasen, who is a former professor of Agricultural Economics at the University of Saskatchewan and has served as a Sask Wheat director since 2014. Ken farms with his family near Preeceville, growing conventional crops on 2000 acres.

The final member of the Board is Dan Danielson, a wheat, canola, lentil and canary seed farmer in the Tyner/Eston area. Dan was first elected to the Board in 2013, re-elected in 2015 and has served as vice-chair of the Board and as Chair of the Audit Committee.

At the AGM, the Board paid tribute to former directors Glenn Tait and Rod Flaman. Glenn and Rod were both elected in 2013, taking office in 2014. Both served on Board committees as Sask Wheat representatives with other organizations.

“I would like to thank both Glenn and Rod for the years of service they devoted to this organization,” said Reiter. “They were instrumental in building the foundation and strategic direction of Sask Wheat and both worked hard on behalf of Saskatchewan’s grain farmers. We appreciate everything they did for Sask Wheat and wish them the best.”

News Release, ProducerSask Wheat